Accuracy in Media

WASHINGTON, February 1, 2012—Accuracy in Media will honor Dana Loesch and Sharyl Attkisson for their outstanding contributions to journalism in a ceremony taking place at the 2012 Conservative Political Action Conference. The Reed Irvine Accuracy in Media Award is named for AIM’s founder, who was America’s original media watchdog.

“Accuracy in Media could not be more excited about the 2012 Reed Irvine Awards,” Chairman Don Irvine said. “AIM continues to be impressed with the leadership Dana Loesch has shown to grassroots citizen journalists. Her fearless challenges to biased media narratives are fine examples of citizens rising up in the name of fairness and accuracy. Loesch represents the essence of our Grassroots Journalism Award.

“For much of her 30 year career as a news anchor and reporter, Sharyl Attkisson has offered a clear example of what an investigative journalist should be doing. She has flown in a B-52 on a combat mission over Kosovo, shed light on TARP, dared to report on Operation Fast and Furious and has recently exposed dubious green energy loans from the Obama Administration. We are honored to present her with the Investigative Journalism Award.”

WHO: Dana Loesch

Editor-in-Chief of Big Journalism, Host of The Dana Show

Sharyl Attkisson

CBS News Investigative Journalist, Two-time Investigative Emmy Award Winner

WHAT: Reed Irvine Accuracy in Media Awards

WHEN: Thursday, February 9, 2012, 3:45 p.m. to 5:30 p.m.

WHERE: Marriott Wardman Park, Wilson C Room, 2660 Woodley Road, NW Washington, DC

WHY: The Reed Irvine Accuracy in Media Award was established in 2005 to honor those who have made outstanding contributions to the practice of journalism in the tradition of Reed Irvine by independently covering and reporting on news that was misreported or ignored by the mainstream press.

The Reed Irvine Accuracy in Media Award ceremony is open to the press and the public.


Accuracy in Media is a citizens’ media watchdog organization whose mission is to promote fairness, balance, and accuracy in news reporting.  Founded in 1969, AIM is America’s first non-profit press watchdog group.  For more information, please visit

To RSVP or for further information, contact Logan Churchwell at (202) 364-4401 ext. 107 or



–Dana Loesch is the Editor-in-Chief of Big Journalism, a regular CNN contributor and host of the St. Louis based The Dana Show: The Conservative Alternative on WIBC 93.1 FM.
–After frequent appearances on Fox News, CBS, ABC, CNN and HBO’s Real Time, CNN hired her as a political contributor in February of 2011.
–Loesch, the mother of two boys, began blogging after the 9/11 attacks and rose to become one of the highest rated commentators online, according to Nielsen.
–She serves on the leadership team for the Nationwide Tea Party Coalition, and was a co-founder of the St. Louis Tea Party.
–Dana and her family live in St. Louis.

–Sharyl Attkisson was named CBS News’ investigative correspondent in August 2007.
–Received an Investigative Emmy Award in 2009 for “Outstanding Investigative Reporting of a Business News Story” on TARP and subsequent bank bailouts.
–Recently led CBS investigations into Solyndra, SpectraWatt, Beacon Power and additional Department of Energy loan guarantees.
–One of the few journalists to have flown in a B-52 on a combat mission in Kosovo. She also flew in an F-15 fighter jet Combat Air Patrol flight.
–Graduate of the University of Florida in 1982 with a bachelor’s degree in broadcast journalism.
–Earned a third-degree black belt in TaeKwonDo.
–Resides in the Washington, D.C. area with her family.

Ready to fight back against media bias?
Join us by donating to AIM today.


Comments are turned off for this article.