Accuracy in Media

WASHINGTON – Sen. Rand Paul (R-Ky.) has become the fourth GOP senator to pledge a vote for the disapproval resolution.

Forty-seven Democrats and their independent allies would provide 50 votes, and Paul’s vote would make 51. Just one past the majority required.

Republican Sens. Lisa Murkowski (Alaska), Susan Collins (Maine), and Thom Tillis (N.C.) have publicly announced they will vote no to the national emergency declaration at the southern border.

The Bowling Green Daily News reported that Paul did not want to take away the checks and balances system that Congress is part of.

Paul said, “I can’t vote to give the president the power to spend money that hasn’t been appropriated by Congress. We may want more money for border security, but Congress didn’t authorize it.”

Politico also reported Paul’s deciding vote could free other senators to “voice their opposition.”

The vote is expected to come by the end of this month, and President Trump will have to decide if he will follow through on his promised veto. The Senate has 18 days from the day the House approved the resolution to vote. Senate Majority Leader, Mitch McConnell, said the vote will happen before a recess that is set for later this month. McConnell has been a strong advocate for the White House and has shown his support for the President continuously on Capitol Hill.

The resolution – which was introduced and passed in the House on Tuesday – passed with 13 Republicans voting alongside Democrats.

Since declaring a national emergency, migrant caravans have continued to make their way to the states, including one with 1,700 Central America migrants in Eagle’s Pass, Texas. Numerous other caravans have made their way to the states through other ports of entry, such as Tijuana and El Paso.

Ready to fight back against media bias?
Join us by donating to AIM today.


Comments are turned off for this article.